Budget
  • FILE PHOTO: A combine drives over stalks of soft red winter wheat during the harvest on a farm in Dixon, Illinois

    Is Trump's $28 Billion Bailout Paying Farmers Too Much?

    By Michael Rainey

    The Trump administration is spending $28 billion to bail out farmers hurt by the president’s trade war with China – a huge sum that some experts say overestimates the economic losses inflicted by the...

  • New Trump Food Stamp Rule Will Cut 700,000 from Program

    By Michael Rainey

    The White House said Wednesday that it has finalized a rule that will tighten work requirements for participants in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or SNAP. The new rule could result...

  • The Ohio-class ballistic missile submarine USS Tennessee returns to Naval Submarine Base Kings Bay, Georgia in this handout photo

    Navy Awards Largest Shipbuilding Contract Ever

    By Michael Rainey

    The U.S. Navy awarded a contract Monday worth more than $22 billion to build nine new attack submarines. The agreement with General Dynamics Electric Boat includes an option for a 10 th sub, which...

  • Dome of the U.S. Capitol Building

    On Congress’s To-Do List: Prevent a Shutdown in 18 Days

    Congressional appropriators back from their Thanksgiving recess have just three weeks to hammer out details on dozens of policy differences over federal funding for fiscal year 2020, which started on...

  • A homeless woman sits on a bench few blocks away from the White House in downtown Washington

    Chart of the Day: Record Low Poverty Rate

    By Michael Rainey

    The extensive array of government assistance programs — including Social Security, unemployment insurance, veterans’ benefits, nutritional aid, rental assistance and the Earned Income Tax Credit —...

Budget Directory

Tags
Tuesday, July 2, 2013 - 4:00am
Monday, July 1, 2013 - 4:30am
Thursday, June 27, 2013 - 7:19pm
Wednesday, June 26, 2013 - 4:08am
Monday, June 24, 2013 - 4:09am
Monday, June 24, 2013 - 4:08am
Friday, June 21, 2013 - 4:32pm
Wednesday, June 19, 2013 - 4:04am
Wednesday, June 19, 2013 - 4:03am
Tuesday, June 18, 2013 - 4:15am
Sunday, June 16, 2013 - 2:24pm
Tuesday, June 11, 2013 - 8:24pm
Monday, June 10, 2013 - 8:27pm
Monday, June 10, 2013 - 12:01am
Sunday, June 9, 2013 - 5:06am
Monday, June 3, 2013 - 4:10am
Saturday, June 1, 2013 - 2:02am
Thursday, May 30, 2013 - 4:05am
Wednesday, May 29, 2013 - 4:04am
Sunday, May 26, 2013 - 4:05am
Thursday, May 23, 2013 - 4:01am
Wednesday, May 22, 2013 - 4:31am
Monday, May 20, 2013 - 4:06am
Thursday, May 16, 2013 - 6:47pm
Tuesday, May 14, 2013 - 4:30am
Monday, May 13, 2013 - 7:05pm
Monday, May 13, 2013 - 6:43pm

Pages